top of page

Apple Gives The Finger To Fans With The 2016 Macbook Pro.

Late 2016 Macbook Pro

**RANT ALERT**

Apple’s business model for 2016 has in some ways catered to fans and in other ways made them feel like they’re just not listening. I am a creative graphics designer so I feel like they have abandon creative professionals in some ways. For example they could have made a touch screen MacBook or iMac years ago but always gave the excuse that OS X is not optimized for touch, I say okay so make a version of OS X that is…….Simple as that.

I would only recommend someone to buy this for video editing if you do a lot of it because Final Cut Pro X is really fine tuned for this machine, so for the videographer this is a great tool. As for the average consumer, I just don’t see a ton of people getting in line for this overpriced Laptop when there are so many other better options for this price point.

I know that is easy to say but if you think about it windows wasn’t optimized for touch either (thinking of the Windows 8 days.) But Microsoft took the chance and just did it, they took criticism and they listened and refined it into what is Windows 10 today. Touch screen is really not for the average consumer if you think about it because the only people that really NEED it are the ones that create and illustrate media. It would be so easy for them to make a touch screen MacBook Pro with a touch screen instead of just an OLED bar.

Which brings me to another thing that bothers me about the new 2016 MacBook Pro, the price. you can buy the base line model for $1499 with no touch bar and if you want the touch bar you have to shell out $1799 which is crazy! And these are base line models mind you with last years processors.

I almost forgot to mention that there are no USB ports, yes, there are 4 USB type C ports so anything you plug into this thing will force you to carry a swiss army knife of adapters. Looks only sell for so long, and don’t get me wrong these new MacBooks are gorgeous but I’m afraid you’re just not getting the most bang out of your buck.

On to the good things about the 2016 Macbook Pro, Not only does it look awesome but the display is 75% brighter than the last generation and the touch bar does have some nice functionality. I would say that the touch bar would make sense if it were a touch screen laptop, because all you can really do with the little strip is scrub through videos and add emojis to a message. Other than that you can get a more powerful windows laptop for a fraction of the cost. If you’ve bought too far into the Apple ecosystem I suggest you hang on to your 2015 Macbook Pro until 2017 and wait for a significant upgrade from Apple or just simple switch to windows.

Don’t get me wrong I am an Apple fan boy and I’m typing this article on a Macbook Pro, but little by little over the last couple of years I am seeing Apple ignore what the fans truly want and Microsoft is picking up the slack. I mean with the Surface Studio coming out in 2017 it’s going to give iMac sales a serious run for their money. Back in the day Apple prided themselves on being the company that catered to the creative professional and that seems to have been put on the back burner for now at least.

They seem to gear their products toward the average consumer instead of professionals and the average consumer is just not going to spend $1499 for a base line model just to say they have a MacBook Pro. I really hope Apple gets it together because 2017 is already starting to look bleak for them. I guess they are just banking on iPhone 8 sales because the MacBook Pro line will no doubt flop in 2017.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page